Better Than Sex Mascara Review

I picked up this little sample size of mascara quite a while ago, and just haven’t gotten around to trying it. This morning my favorite mascara just happened to run out, so I felt like there was no better time than right now to try out this product out. 

With a name like Better Than Sex, I’m expecting this product to live up to it’s name. According to Too Faced’s website, this mascara is supposed to give you long and full looking lashes in one of two coats. The formula is packed with collagen, which is supposed to give the user a larger than life, wow factor lashes. This mascara is one of the most raved about products in the beauty world – bloggers and Youtubers are constantly recommending it. Even looking up reviews on this product, it’s supposed to be one of the best mascaras on the market. 

When first applying this mascara, I have to say that I was impressed. It built really quickly and my lashes weren’t sticking together as I was applying the product. When using the mascara, two coats is more than enough. As with most products, when more and more coats are added, the lashes are going to get clumpy and have a spidery look to them. The formula dried fairly quickly, which was really nice. From first application, I noticed that my lashes did look very full and dramatic, without being over the top. I have to say that I was very impressed and that they product was living up to the hype. 

As I went about my day, I noticed that the mascara started to fall a little flat. My lashes were starting to calm down and look a little limp, as if I had barely any mascara on at all. This was definitely a disappointment to say the least. In addition, I noticed that there were mascara flakes all over my face, which is a no go for me. I want a mascara that isn’t going to flake off during the day, especially when I’m spending my entire day on the go. By the end of the day,  my lashes looked like I didn’t even apply any mascara, which really defeated the purpose of this supposedly long wear mascara. 

Overall, I don’t regret purchasing this product, but I would say that I am disappointed. It’s a good mascara for a short wear, but definitely not everyday or for a special occasion.  I would probably use this on a more natural wearing makeup day, where I want to just give my lashes a little pick me up. 

Leave a Reply

