Give Your Hair a Break!

Blowdryers. Straighteners. Curling Irons. It’s no secret that these tools are essentials in everyone’s hair routine. Personally, I use either blow dry or straighten my hair every single day. On the weekends, I’m always curling my hair, whether it be just the ends or from root to bottom. All this heat is definitely no good on your luscious locks – no one wants to have frayed, dry, dead ends, it doesn’t look cute at all. It’s time to give your hair a break from all that heat!ย I began to notice that the ends of my hair were starting to look all spilt, dry, and damaged, and I knew right away it was from all the hot tool I’m constantly using. So I took an entire week off from my normal beauty routine and actually started to see a difference. This was extremely hard for me, due to the fact that I always just wear my hair straight down, and any little wave or bump annoys me to no end. I’m not that skilled in hair, so by challenging myself to a No Heat Week was definitely going to be hard.

So Mondayย rolled around and it was the beginning of my No Heat Week. I got out of bed and stared in the mirror wondering what I was going to do with my hair. After what felt like forever playing around my hair, I ended up going with a simple ponytail. I figured it was Monday and it fit the overall vibe of the day. I have to admit, I felt a little self conscious all day because my hair wasn’t done to my standards. I felt as if I looked like I didn’t care about myself…which I know is far from true. For Tuesday, I ended up doing a simple braid, with two pieces farming my face. It was gorgeous spring day out and it felt good to have my hair just tied back. I decided for Wednesday, I actually wanted to do something with my hair – but what? After some research and a shower, I decided to add a little bit moose to my hair and split it into two braids, leaving them in overnight. The next morning, I took them out and had gorgeous, simple, almost beachy waves. I was satisfied with the result and have to say that this was my favorite hair day by far. Thursday consisted of yet another ponytail due to the fact that I was running late and had so many errands that day. Lastly, Friday I choose to do a simple side bun. I have to admit that I did try several other style of buns – from a top knot to a donut bun but I wasn’t feeling any of them.

Overall, my No Heat Week turned out to be not as bad as I thought. My hair felt much healthier when Saturday rolled around, with the ends not feeling as dry as they did. I know that if I kept on applying heat to my hair every single day, I was just going to have to chop half of it off next time I went to the hair dresser -which is my worst nightmare. Besides, going a few days without perfectly styled hair isn’t the end of the world.ย It’s essential to take a few days off from the heat, trust me, your hair will thank you!

Leave a Reply

