Babe Cave on a Budget

Babe Cave? Sign me up. These cozy, trendy, yet sassy rooms are all the buzz lately. Sure, you might be thinking, “it’s just a knockoff man cave,” while true, it’s more about the vibe of the room than the name. Babe Cave’s are all about being cozy, warm, and trendy. There are pillows with sassy sayings, fuzzy knit blankets, and fairy lights illuminating the space. There are thousands of pictures on Instagram and Pinterest that showcase what these rooms are all about. While these pictures are gorgeous and dream worthy rooms, they’re not realistic. Every day people don’t have the talent (or money) or interior designers, but that doesn’t mean that the dream babe cave can’t be made.

It is possible to achieve this dream room, without breaking the bank. I’ve started to transform my college apartment into a miniature babe cave little by little. Start by finding some lights. I went to the clearance section of Target at the end of the Christmas season and was able to find some beautiful soft white lights. I know the holiday season is well over, but that doesn’t mean you can’t find Christmas lights! Check your attic, ask some friends; someone has to have some lying around. Another great purchase I found recently was a line of light clothespins. I’ve used them to hang a flag and some pictures over my desk.

Pillows and blankets are babe cave essentials – and SO easy to find. I’ve started a little collection. I’ve taken pillows that my parents don’t want anymore and one’s from my sister’s old dorm room bedspread. I’ve looked here and there in Target, T.J. Maxx, and Marshalls to see what pillows they have – you never know what you’re going to find! My favorite bedroom decorations have to be blankets. I’m a blanket queen, I’ll admit it. Babe Caves usually are home to chunkier cable knit blankets, but that doesn’t mean you can’t use other ones! I happened to get the softest, off-white cable knit blanket for Christmas this year, and it fits perfectly with my room. It’s so nice to just throw on top of my bed or roll up and keep in a little side basket.

The last essential for a Babe Cave would of course be the decorations! Knick-knacks, wall signs, flags, wine bottles, jewelry holders…the list goes on and on. Find decorations that show off your personality and place them around the room. I have tons of pictures hanging up, canvases on my walls and windowsills, and a flag above my bed. The most important piece of advice I can give you here is to not overdo it! Place everything strategically and make sure nothing looks too cluttered. Pictures are super cheap to develop and you can totally make your own canvases! Go shopping at T.J. Maxx, Marshalls, and Home Goods – you can find so many home decorations for cheap. Part of the fun of creating your own space is the hunt for items. The decorations are really what make your Babe Cave, well yours!

No matter what you see on Pinterest or Instagram, the perfect Babe Cave is totally up to you. Make it your own, do whatever you want that makes you feel cozy and at home!

Leave a Reply

