I Hate Valentine’s Day.

Let’s talk about Valentine’s Day, but let’s get one things straight – it’s stupid. This isn’t coming from an “I’m single and I’m jealous” perspective either. It’s simply the fact that I’ve never liked it, and I have a strong feeling that I never will. Why do we need a to have a holiday to prove that we love each other? Oh and to prove my love, let me buy you a giant teddy bear or a box of chocolates. Honestly, this doesn’t show how much you love your significant other. If we’re going to be completely honesty here, the chocolate usually doesn’t taste that great and don’t even get me started on candy hearts. No one really likes them, they taste like chalk.

Now, you’re probably like, “Oh wow this girl totally hates the concept of love.” WRONG. I believe in love and totally cannot wait to be in love with someone one day. It’s just this holiday has become so commercialized and has way too many unrealistic expectations. Who’s boyfriend can buy them the biggest teddy bear? Did he buy her roses? I hope they’re red. Where are they going to dinner? Like come on , it’s a holiday that was created to sell a bunch of cheap gifts and horrible cards. What makes it even worse is when couples post these cheesy pictures with sappy captions about how much they love each other. Don’t even get me started about when they post their gifts. I’m glad that your significant other got you a gift, but the entire world doesn’t need to see it. You’re just posting it to show everyone that you have the best boyfriend ever and to show off to your friends. There’s really no love behind that post – no many heart emojis you put.

The worst thing is that Valentine’s Day actually makes me feel guilty for being single – which is something I’m definitely not. I’ve been single for twenty years now and embraced everyone moment of it. I can’t stand scrolling through Instagram and seeing all these happy couple celebrating simply because it’s a holiday I can’t celebrate. Don’t get me wrong, my parents and my friends love me. There’s been years where I get gifts and get to participate in all the fun, but it’s not the same. Every February rolls around, and it just makes me feel like I’ve done something wrong and I should have stepped up my game during the year and found someone. It sounds stupid, and it is. Why do I let a holiday make me feel guilty?

I don’t believe in “Galentine’s Day” either (as much as I do love Parks & Rec.) I just feel like it’s another way for people to showcase to the world that they “don’t care” about Valentine’s Day – but they do. If you really didn’t care, you would be celebrating with all your single friends and showcasing it to all of Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat.

The teddy bears, chocolates, roses, fancy jewelry, and cheesy cards are great for the day but come on – that’s not love. Love is being thankful for that special someone in your life and the little everyday things that they do. Love is spending time with your significant other doing nothing special but enjoying every single moment of it. A fancy dinner and gifts are great and yes they come out of love, but a holiday isn’t needed for this. A holiday isn’t needed to remind people that we love each other. This is something that you should be doing on the daily.

The point I’m trying to get at here is that we don’t need Valentine’s Day to showcase our love, and I feel like people forget that. Yes, it’s nice to celebrate, but remember there are 364 other days in the year. Take the extra steps to do something romantic throughout the year – to remind someone that you love them. So, buy a teddy bear on April 7th, take her out to dinner July 6th, and buy flowers on December 18th – just because.

Leave a Reply

