Bold Lips

As a makeup lover, I would have to say that one of my favorite products is lipstick. There’s just something about wearing it that makes me feel super confident and feminine. It brings together any look, no matter how simple or extravagant. But as a fan of lipstick, I’ve never felt confident enough to rock bold colors. I always opt for a neutral shade, and if I’m feeling really adventurous I choose a red – I know crazy colors right? I’ve always wanted to be that girl that wears a dark purple, grey, black, or blue, but for some reason I have this mental block. I can walk into any makeup store and compliment how beautiful all these shades are, but the next words out of my mouth are always “I wouldn’t be able to wear this,” and then I end up leaving the store with yet another nude lipstick.

But this weekend, something happened – I wore purple lipstick, and let me tell you it was an experience. I was getting ready to go out sporting my usual going out makeup and neutral lips. After I finished my makeup, my friend looked at me and was like “no,” and started digging through her makeup collection. After what felt like forever, she handed me a purple lipstick and told me to put it on. As I said earlier, I have this mental block that I just look stupid in bold colors. I fought her for a few minutes, but eventually gave in. I applied the lipstick, looked at her, and told her I was taking it off. Being the great friend she was, she wouldn’t let me and made me go out (also because our ride was there, but hey it’s pretty much the same thing).

On the way to this party, I felt like my lips were screaming “LOOK AT ME,” but there was literally nothing I could do about it at this point. I just had to deal with the purple and try to have fun. Fast-forward about forty minutes, I completely forgot I was wearing this purple shade on my lips. The shocking thing is that everyone I ran into was complimenting my lip color and saying how great it looked. Between the compliments and forgetting that I was doing something so out of my comfort zone, I actually kind of liked the stupid purple lipstick.

Moral of the story: I tried something out of my comfort zone and it was pretty cool. I also learned that bold color lips don’t look as stupid as I thought and that I actually can wear them.

And in case you were wondering, I was wearing NYX Extra Creamy Round Lipstick in the shade Castle.

Leave a Reply

