Greek Life? What’s the Deal?

When I first started college, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to join Greek Life. Fast forward three years later, and its hands down one of the best decisions I made. Cliché – I know, but it’s the truth.

Before I dive into my personal experience with Greek Life, let me give you a little background. I went out for recruitment the spring of my freshman year of college and immediately fell in love with Alpha Omicron Pi. When I walked into the room, I felt at home and knew that I could have a bond with each of the girls in that chapter. I love everyone one of my sisters and each of them has made my life better. Oh, and I’m totally going to get typical sorority girl on everyone right now – I have the perfect big, and I cannot wait to get a little.

At my school, Greek Life is a huge deal – you’re either in a chapter or an athlete. There’s really no in between, and of course that sucks. So as you can imagine, recruitment weekend is like extra. It’s three days long, but feels like two seconds. There’s lots of chanting, smiling, and conversations. Before you know it’s Bid Night and you’re waiting in a room with a hundred other girls, with an envelope that contains your future home. At my school, after you rip open your envelope you run up the stairs into complete madness of hundreds of screaming sorority girls welcoming home their new members. (I know it sounds weird and chaotic, and like so many people would probably get injured, but surprisingly no one has.)

So, yes, I’m well aware that all of this sounds like your stereotypical Greek Life movie – loving all my sisters, having the perfect big, and just being in love with my chapter. All of these things are great, but Greek Life is so much more than that. There’s service, involvement, and skill building. My sorority participates in multiple philanthropic events on campus throughout the school year. We even host two events to raise money for our philanthropy – Arthritis Research. Next, joining a chapter has made me become more involved on campus. In addition to holding, an e-board position within my chapter,  I’ve joined clubs, gone to more events then I can count, and found myself wanting to be on campus more than home. Lastly, I have learned so many valuable life skills through my sorority. I have learned how to be a team player, proper time management, recruitment skills, and communication skills. There’s no doubt in my mind that these skills will help me in my career and my every day life.

One of the best things about joining Greek Life is the connections you make. Obviously, I now know so many people on campus. I literally walk into the Student Center and see a table full of my sisters and other members of Greek Life that I know. But, taking this outside of the college campus, I know that there’s a whole network of sisters out there, which is crazy to even think about. My sorority extends so much further then my school. In addition, it’s not only my sorority but other members in Greek Life as well. We all share this bond of knowing what it’s like to be part of something bigger than yourself.

It’s much more then nice t-shirts, big and littles, or partying and people fail to recognize that. Being in Greek Life for two full years now, has definitely changed my life for the better. I don’t think that I can picture my college years without it. As cliché as it sounds, I found my home away from home in Alpha Omicron Pi.

One thought on “Greek Life? What’s the Deal?

Leave a Reply

